Perfect Stars and Regular Polygons (digital sums…)

This year in my mathematics class, I waited to assign student projects on regular polygons until the last quarter.  Partly because of having an intern in my classroom, but I think it feel rather nicely into the last quarter course objectives.  This year, I actually allowed one student to complete the assignment digitially using a program called geogebra.  I encouraged the student to use some other computer techniques to describe how they used the program to complete the assignment.  I was a little at odds allowing the computer program to take the place of the student completing the regular polygon by hand because of learning to use a protractor to create angles.  I think the digital assignment went well; the student actually completed the assignment about 20-30 minutes faster than the hand made projects and was able to help another student complete theirs because they were absent. 

This year I had university students come to my class to practice lessons involving pi with my students.  One of the lessons involved connecting points along a circle using digital sums.  I had many students use this technique to help describe how they connected their vertices to create stars inside the regular polygon.  This really made me think about next year including a lesson on modulo arithematic before beginning the project.  I’ll follow this post up later with a few example projects.

Leave a Reply

